2018-05-30 / Front Page

New Releases By Favorite Authors At Astoria Bookshop

Astoria Bookshop has new releases from Rachel Kushner, Lara Elena Donnelly and more!

May is an exciting month for books. Your favorite authors are back, and Astoria Bookshop has got them in stock. Check out some of their personal favorites below, or stop in to browse and find some new favorites of your own. As BookCon is right around the corner (June 2nd & 3rd) Astoria Bookshop wants to get the word out to their favorite customers: in the next few weeks, they’re giving out some discounts and free tickets. Stay tuned for more details, book lovers. As always, their calendar is full of exciting events; so visit www.astoriabookshop.com.

New & Noteworthy Fiction & Poetry:

“Warlight” by Michael Ondaatje – From the internationally acclaimed, best-selling author of “The English Patient”, a mesmerizing new novel that tells a dramatic story set in the decade after World War II seen through the lives of a small group of unexpected characters and two teenagers whose lives are indelibly shaped by their unwitting involvement.

“Welcome To Lagos” by Chibundu Onuzo is a high-spirited novel about aspirations and escape, innocence and corruption. Full of humor and heart, it offers a provocative portrait of contemporary Nigeria that marks the arrival in the United States of an extraordinary young writer.

“The Mars Room” by the twice National Book Award-nominated Rachel Kushner, whose “Flamethrowers” was called “the best, most brazen, most interesting book of the year” (Kathryn Schulz, New York magazine), comes a spectacularly compelling, heart-stopping novel about a life gone off the rails in contemporary America.

“Armistice” by Lara Elena Donnelly returns to Donnellyʼs ravishing 1930s Art Deco-tinged fantasy world of the Nebula Award nominated “Amberlough” with a decadent, tumultuous mixture of sex, politics, and spies.

“West” by Carys Davies – From Frank OʼConnor Award winner Carys Davies, “West” is a spellbinding and timeless epic-in-miniature, an eerie parable of the American frontier and an electric monument to possibility.

New & Noteworthy Non Fiction:

“How To Change Your Mind” – A brilliant and brave investigation by Michael Pollan, author of five New York Times best sellers, into the medical and scientific revolution taking place around psychedelic drugs—and the spellbinding story of his own life-changing psychedelic experiences.

“Barracoon” by Zora Neale Hurston – A major literary event: a newly published work from the author of the American classic, “Their Eyes Were Watching God,” with a foreword from Pulitzer Prize-winning author Alice Walker, “Barracoon” brilliantly illuminates the horror and injustices of slavery as it tells the true story of one of the last-known survivors of the Atlantic slave trade—abducted from Africa on the last “Black Cargo” ship to arrive in the United States.

“The Order of Time” by Carlo Rovelli – Why do we remember the past and not the future? What does it mean for time to “flow”? Do we exist in time or does time exist in us? In lyrical, accessible prose, Carlo Rovelli invites us to consider questions about the nature of time that continue to puzzle physicists and philosophers alike.

“Not That Bad” – Edited and with an introduction by Roxane Gay, The New York Times bestselling and deeply beloved author of “Bad Feminist” and “Hunger,” this anthology of first-person essays tackles rape, assault, and harassment head-on.

“How to Write an Autobiographical Novel” by Alexander Chee – From the author of “The Queen of the Night,” an essay collection exploring his education as a man, writer, and activist—and how we form our identities in life and in art.

New & Noteworthy for Young Readers:

“War Storm” by Victoria Aveyard – The #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen series comes to a stunning conclusion in “War Storm.” Victory comes at a price. In the epic conclusion to Victoria Aveyardʼs stunning series, Mare must embrace her fate and summon all her power . . . for all will be tested, but not all will survive.

“Runaways” – Superstar author Rainbow Rowell (“Eleanor & Park,” “Carry On”) makes her Marvel debut with fan-favorite artist Kris Anka (“Captain Marvel”) in the series that will shock you and break your heart!

“Winter Glass” by Lexa Hillyer – Fans of Kendare Blake and Marissa Meyer will rejoice as Lexa Hillyer returns to a lush fantasy world in deep peril, concluding the dark and stunning fairy tale reinvention that began with “Spindle Fire.”

“Ash Princess” by Laura Sebastian – An instant New York Times Bestseller! “Made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (“Bustle”), “Ash Princess” is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.

“The Trials of Apollo, Book Three: The Burning Maze” by Rick Riordan – The formerly glorious god Apollo, cast down to earth in punishment by Zeus, is now an awkward mortal teenager named Lester Papadopoulos. In order to regain his place on Mount Olympus, Lester must restore five Oracles that have gone dark.

New & Noteworthy for Kids:

“Square” – The beguiling second entry in the innovative shape trilogy by multi-award-winning, New York Times best-selling duo Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen.

“Julian is a Mermaid” by Jessica Love – In an exuberant picture book, a glimpse of costumed mermaids leaves one boy flooded with wonder and ready to dazzle the world.

“Ocean Meets Sky” by Terry & Eric Fan – From the creators of the gorgeous bestseller, “The Night Gardener,” comes a stunning new picture book about a young boy who sets sail to find a place his grandfather told him about…the spot where the ocean meets the sky.

“Feminist Baby Finds Her Voice” by Loryn Brantz – “Feminist Baby” is learning to talk / She says what she thinks and it totally rocks! / Feminist Babies stand up tall / Equal rights and toys for all!” “Feminist Baby” is back for more adventures—with new friends in tow in this refreshing, clever board book by two-time Emmy Award-winning author and BuzzFeed contributor Loryn Brantz.

The Astoria Bookshop is located at 31-29 31st Street in Astoria.

 

 

 

Return to top

Copyright 1999-2018 The Service Advertising Group, Inc. All rights reserved.