2018-01-24 / Front Page

Astoria Bookshop’s New Releases And Reading Challenge

A new year brings new releases! Astoria Bookshop has a lot of great books to look forward to these next coming months, and this first batch is already fantastic! Some of you might have made some reading resolutions that you’ve already begun to accomplish. Some of you might need some inspiration. Check out what’s new at Astoria Bookshop, or visit the bookshop to peruse the shelves yourself. As always, their calendar is full of exciting events, visit www.astoriabookshop.com. Additionally, they’ve revamped their annual Astoria Bookshop Reading Challenge for 2018, which you can find on their website at www.astoriabookshop.com/?q=h

New & Noteworthy Fiction & Poetry:

“Fire Sermon” by Jamie Quarto – The highly-anticipated, provocative debut novel from the “fearless” (New Yorker) and “distinctive” (San Francisco Chronicle) Jamie Quatro, “Fire Sermon” charts with bold intimacy and immersive sensuality the life of a married woman in the grip of a magnetic affair.

“The Perfect Nanny” by Leila Slimani – Named one of 2018ʼs Most Anticipated Books by NPR’s Weekend Edition, Real Simple, The Millions, The Guardian, Bustle, and Book Riot. She has the keys to their apartment. She knows everything. She has embedded herself so deeply in their lives that it now seems impossible to remove her.

“The Immortalists” by Chloe Benjamin – A dazzling family love story reminiscent of “Everything I Never Told You” from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a “great new talent.” If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?

“Saga Volume 8” by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples - After the traumatic events of the “War for Phang,” Hazel, her parents, and their surviving companions embark on a life-changing adventure at the westernmost edge of the universe.

“Everything Here Is Beautiful” by Mira T. Lee – A dazzling novel of two sisters and their emotional journey through love, loyalty, and heartbreak.

New & Noteworthy Non-Fiction:

“111 Places In Queens That You Must Not Miss” by Joe Distefano – Staggering ethnic diversity, rich cultural history, and a robust arts scene make Queens one of the most exciting destinations in all of New York City. Head out to QED Astoria on January 22nd for the book launch of this excellent new guide to our borough!

“When: The Scientifc Secrets of Perfect Timing” by Daniel H. Pink – Daniel H. Pink, the #1 bestselling author of “Drive” and “To Sell Is Human,” unlocks the scientific secrets to good timing to help you flourish at work, at school, and at home.

“When They Call You A Terrorist” by Patrisse Khan Cullors and Asha Bandele – The emotional and powerful story of one of the co-founders of Black Lives Matter and how the movement was born.

“It Occurs To Me That I Am America” – In time for the one-year anniversary of the Trump Inauguration and the Women’s March, this provocative, unprecedented anthology features original short stories from thirty bestselling and award-winning authors—including Alice Walker, Richard Russo, Walter Mosley, Joyce Carol Oates, Alice Hoffman, Neil Gaiman, Michael Cunningham, Mary Higgins Clark, and Lee Child – with an introduction by Pulitzer Prizewinning author Viet Thanh Nguyen.

“So You Want to Talk About Race” by Ijeoma Oluo – In this breakout book, Ijeoma Oluo explores the complex reality of today’s racial landscape – from white privilege and police brutality to systemic discrimination and the Black Lives Matter movement – offering straightforward clarity that readers need to contribute to the dismantling of the racial divide

New & Noteworthy for Young Readers:

“Everless” by Sara Holland – Fans of Victoria Aveyard, Kendare Blake, and Stephanie Garber will devour this lush novel’s breathtaking action, incredible romance, and danger. A debut from a local Astoria author!

“The Cruel Prince” by Holly Black – By #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black, the first book in a stunning new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue. January’s YA book club pick and 10% off for the month!

“Ink” by Alice Broadway – A deliciously dark, gorgeously written YA mystery that’ll prickle your skin . . . and leave a permanent mark. “There are no secrets in Saintstone.”

“Bad Kitty: Camp Daze” by Nick Bruel – Kitty’s life is really hard. Like really, REALLY hard. All she asks for is 22 hours a day to sleep and food to be delivered morning and night. But does she get it? No. And when Puppy and Baby get a little rambunctious during her naptime, Kitty gets bonked on the head and starts to believe she’s . . . a dog.

“Dog Man and Cat Kid” by Dav Pilkey – Has Dog Man finally found the purr-fect sidekick? The heroic hound with a real nose for justice now has a furry feline sidekick, and together they have a mystery to sniff out!

New & Noteworthy for Kids:

“So Far Up” by Susan Strasser – Bear can’t reach the cake he’s after – it’s so far up, and he’s so far down! Will his friends be able to help? A cast of friendly animals – who are all so far down – try to help bear reach the desired cake. But what happens when a child swoops in with other plans?

“Mae Among the Stars” by Roda Ahmed and Stasia Burrington – A beautiful picture book for sharing, inspired by the life of the first African American woman to travel in space, Mae Jemison. A great classroom and bedtime read-aloud, “Mae Among the Stars” is the perfect book for young readers who have big dreams and even bigger hearts!

“My Pillow Keeps Moving!” by Lauren Gehl and Christopher Weyant – A lonely man tries to buy a pillow . . . and ends up with a new best friend in this silly and sweet doggy tale.

“The Littlest Viking” by Alexandra Penfold and Isabel Roxas – A hilarious story about what happens to the littlest and loudest Viking when an even littler and louder Viking arrives, perfect for fans of “The Princess and the Pony” and “I Don’t Want to Be a Frog.”

Astoria Bookshop is located at 31-29 31st Street in Astoria, NY 11106.

“Fire Sermon” by Jamie Quarto.

“It Occurs To Me That I Am America” – An anthology featuring original short stories from Alice Walker, Walter Mosley, Joyce Carol Oates, Neil Gaiman, Michael Cunningham, Mary Higgins Clark, and with an introduction by Pulitzer Prizewinning author Viet Thanh Nguyen.

“Ink” by Alice Broadway

“Mae Among the Stars” by Roda Ahmed and Stasia Burrington

 

Return to top

Copyright 1999-2018 The Service Advertising Group, Inc. All rights reserved.