2017-09-06 / Political Page

Voters Head For Polls Next Tuesday

Voters registered as Democrats will head to the polls next Tuesday (September 12) to select their party’s candidates for mayor, public advocate and City Council seats for the next four years, and all indications appear to favor Mayor Bill de Blasio to emerge as the winner of a second four-year term at City Hall.

Forecasts also indicate that City Council candidates for reelection point to Democratic candidates winning those battles in a majority of the contests for new four-year terms.

Mayor de Blasio appears to have a clear path to victory in the mayoral contest based on the fact that there are by far more Democrats than Republicans on the voting registration rolls, and that criterion also applies to registrants from other political organizations and independent voters.

In addition, de Blasio has had a relatively trouble-free first term as mayor, matching his past clean record dating back to his service as a City Councilman and public advocate. Stretching this point, de Blasio has always benefited in his political career by being free of any scandal in his public or private life.

As for the rest of the ticket this election day, the City Council elections also being held on Tuesday should guarantee a fairly good turnout of voters for the City Council contests. This factor should benefit de Blasio in his contest.

Queens has a total of 15 seats in the City Council, but only 7 Council incumbents are being challenged in Tuesday’s elections. The only other contest on the ballot is for the public advocate office, in which incumbent Democrat Letitia James is being challenged by David Eisenbach, from Manhattan.

The races on Tuesday’s ballot are as follows:

Bill de Blasio, Brooklyn
Michael Tolkin, Brooklyn
Sal F. Albanese, Staten Island
Richard S. Bashner, Brooklyn
Robert Gangi, Manhattan
Letitia James, Brooklyn
David Eisenbach, Manhattan
19th District – Paul Vallone, Flushing;
Paul D. Graziano, Flushing
20th District – Peter A. Koo, Flushing;
Alison Tan, Flushing
21st District – Francisco P. Moya, Corona;
Hiram Monserrate, E. Elmhurst
23rd District – Barry Grodenchik, Queens
Village; Benny A. Itteera, Floral Park
24th District – Rory Lancman, Fresh
Meadows; Mohammed Rahman, Jamaica
27th District – I. Daneek Miller, Cambria
Heights; Anthony Rivers, Saint Albans
28th District – Hettie V. Powell, Jamaica;
Adrienne E. Adams, Jamaica; Richard David,
South Ozone Park
30th District – Elizabeth Crowley,
Glendale; Robert R. Holden, Middle Village
32nd District – Helal Sheikh, Ozone Park;
Michael Scala, Howard Beach; William Ruiz,
Ozone Park
34th District – Antonio Reynoso,
Brooklyn; Tommy Torres, Brooklyn

Return to top

Copyright 1999-2018 The Service Advertising Group, Inc. All rights reserved.