2017-06-14 / Front Page

Astoria Bookshop: New Releases On Their Shelves Now

Spring is in full swing and Astoria Bookshop is stocked up on your next read! Check out some of their personal favorites below, or head on to browse and find some new favorites of your own. As always, their calendar is full of exciting events. Find more at astoriabookshop.com

New & noteworthy fiction:

Theft by Finding by David Sedaris (signed copies available!) – The diaries from the author of Me Talk Pretty One Day are written with a sharp eye and ear for the bizarre, the beautiful, and the uncomfortable.

Making Rent in Bed-Stuy by Brandon HarrisA young African American millennial filmmaker’s funny, sometimes painful, true-life coming-of-age story of trying to make it in New York City.

Vacation Guide to the Solar System by Olivia Koski and Jana Grcevich – Packed with real science and fueled by imagination, a beautifully illustrated guide to traveling in our solar system.

Opening Wednesday at a Theater or Drive-In Near You by Charles Taylor – Celebrated film critic Taylor pays homage to the trucker vigilantes, meat magnate pimps, blaxploitation “angel avengers,” and taciturn factory workers of grungy, unartful B films such as Prime CutFoxy Brown, and Eyes of Laura Mars. Don’t miss AB’s event with Taylor and Cinema Under the Influence Wednesday, today, 6/14 at 7 p.m.!

Demagoguery and Democracy by Patricia Roberts-MillerA clear-eyed guide to demagoguery – and how we can defeat it.

New & noteworthy for young readers:

Dividing Eden by Joelle CharbonneauFrom the bestselling author of Need comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas. 

The Possible by Tara Altebrando – The author of The Leaving is back at it with a gripping story in which a podcaster stirs up 17-year-old Kaylee’s memories of her birth mother, who’s infamous for her alleged telekinetic ability and for murdering her own son.

The Misadventures of Max Crumbly by Rachel Renee Russell – From No. 1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries author Rachel Renee Russell comes the second book in an all-new series about Max Crumbly and his daily ups and downs in middle school.

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon – The YA rom-com everyone’s talking about that follows two Indian American teens whose parents conspire to arrange their marriage.

Felix Yz by Lisa BunkerTold in an unforgettable voice full of heart and humor, Felix Yz is a groundbreaking story about how we are all separate, but all connected too.

New & noteworthy picture books:

An Animal ABC by Alice PattulloThis animal ABC is a stunning art and reference book for children, and adults, to pore over.

This Book Will Not Be Fun by Cirocco Dunlap, illustrated by Olivier TallecA mouse who acts as a careful custodian of his book tries to guarantee his reader some peace and order in spite of escalating chaos.

Pip and Posy by Axel Scheffler – Pip and Posy are having a lovely day at the beach, collecting shells and digging in the sand. But when Posy takes a nap, Pip makes a new friend named Zac. From the illustrator behind The Gruffalo.

She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton, illustrated by Alexandra Boiger – Chelsea Clinton introduces tiny feminists, mini activists and little kids who are ready to take on the world to 13 inspirational women who never took no for an answer, and who always, inevitably, and without fail, persisted.

Theft by Finding by David Sedaris.

 

Making Rent in Bed-Stuy by Brandon Harris.

 

Vacation Guide to the Solar System by Olivia Koski and Jana Grcevich.

 

Opening Wednesday at a Theater or Drive-In Near You by Charles TaylorDon’t miss Astoria Bookshop’s event with Taylor and Cinema Under the Influence, tonight at 7 p.m.!

 

The Misadventures of Max Crumbly by Rachel Renee Russell.

 

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon.

 

She Persisted by Chelsea Clinton, illustrated by Alexandra Boiger.

Return to top

Copyright 1999-2018 The Service Advertising Group, Inc. All rights reserved.