2017-04-26 / Editorials

Beg Pardon

The following is a correction for the Gazette Restaurant of the Week: Bohemian Hall (April 19): The name Bohemia is derived from that of a Celtic tribe – the Boii (the Romans called it Boiiohemum), who were supplanted by the Germanic Marcoomani. The Slavic people probably entered the country by the 1st century AD. The most powerful of the Slav tribes were the Cechove (Czechs), who gradually subjugated other peoples in the area. It is a historic country of central Europe, bounded on the south by Austria, on the West by Bavaria, by the north by Saxony and Lusatia and on the east by Silesia and Moravia. For centuries a kingdom, it was from 1918 to 1939 and from 1945 to 1993 the westernmost part of Czechoslovakia. In 1993 Czechoslovakia split amicably into two countries called Czech Republic and Slovakia. The Czech Republic now consists of Bohemia, Moravia and Silesia.

Return to top

Copyright 1999-2019 The Service Advertising Group, Inc. All rights reserved.