2016-11-16 / Political Page

Detailed Local Election Results 2016

In one of the most unexpected presidential elections in history, Donald Trump defeated Hillary Clinton in last week’s voting, duplicating his prior victory over more than a dozen Republicans in last spring’s primaries.

In the seven Congressional races, Congress Member Joseph Crowley (D–WF–WE), the chairman of the Queens Democratic organization, led his party members in Tuesday’s voting, winning a 10th term and solidifying his position as Vice Chair of the Democratic Caucus in the House. Crowley, a member of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, defeated Frank Spotorno (R–C). Crowley’s 14th CD covers Queens and the Bronx.

Another veteran Queens Democrat, Congress Member Carolyn Maloney (Queens, Manhattan and Brooklyn) extended her long career in the 12th CD by another term. Maloney is the acknowledged leader in legislative matters, always being ahead of the curve. She ran as the (D–WF) candidate and defeated Robert Ardini (R).

In what had been expected to be a close race to succeed Steve Israel, who resigned from the 3rd CD seat, Thomas Suozzi (D) of Glen Cove, scored a close victory over Jack Martins (R). The district covers the north shore of Long Island, with a portion of Northeastern Queens.

Another long-term office holder, Congressman Gregory Meeks, won his 10th term over Michael O’Reilly (R). Also in that race was Green Party member Frank Francois of Queens Village. The 5th CD covers southeast Queens.

Congress Member Grace Meng (6th CD) won easily over Danniel Maio of Forest Hills and Hari Bhatti of Bayside. Maio ran on Republican-Conservative platforms, as well as Blue Lives Matter. Meng ran on Democtrat and Women’s Equality lines.

Rounding out Congress winners were Congress Members Nydia Velazquez (7th CD) and Hakeem Jeffries. Velazquez (DWE) defeated Allan Romaguera; Jeffries defeated Daniel J. Cavanagh, a conservative. Jeffries, from Brooklyn, includes Howard Beach in his 8th CD.

In the Congressional, state Senate and Assembly contests that were decided in Tuesday’s balloting, Democratic incumbents faced Republican opponents in many contests for the first time in many years, but none of the GOP challengers came up as winners, as Democrats pitched another shutout. Another batch of Democratic victories were received by Democratic incumbents who were unopposed and thereby won new terms.

Turning to the State Senate contests, Senator Michael Gianaris (D-Astoria), one of the Democratic Senate’s frontrunners, won an easy victory over Marvin Jeffcoat (R-C) of Woodside. Gianaris ran on the Democratic and Working Families lines and represents the 12th SD.

State Senator Joseph Addabbo Jr (running on Democratic, Working Families and Women’s Equality lines) defeated Michael Conigliaro of Rego Park (R-C-Reform). Addabbo’s 15th SD covers Howard Beach and Ozone Park.

Another winner of the night was Senate veteran Toby Ann Stavisky (D-WF-WE) of Forest Hills, who defeated Carlos Giron of Woodside. Her 16th CD covers central Queens.

In the 11th SD, the Whitestone-College Point area, longtime lawmaker Senator Tony Avella (D) defeated Mark Cipolla (RC Reform) of Hollis.

State Senator Jose Peralta (13th Senate) defeated Jesus Gonzalez of East Elmhurst. Peralta, of Jackson Heights, ran on the Democratic and Working Families platforms; Gonzalez ran as a Republican- Conservative-Reform combination.

Far Rockaway (10th SD) Representative James Sanders Jr. (D-W-F) gained a victory over Adrienne Adams of Jamaica (WE). The district covers the Rockaways and Sanders himself is from Far Rockaway.

Finally, Senator Leroy Comrie, a veteran Jamaica politician and Democrat defeated Jarret Freeman, a Republican for Cambria Heights.

Queens holds 18 seats in the state Assembly, all Democrats in Tuesday’s elections, 11 of the incumbent Democrats from the borough ran unopposed. A review of how the remainder of the ballot fared follows.

In the 23rd AD, covering the Rockaways, a newcomer Stacey Pheffer Amato (D-WF-WE) of Rockaway Beach and daughter of former Assembly Member and current Queens County Clerk Audrey Pheffer, defeated her opponent Alan Zwirn of Belle Harbor (R-C-Reform).

Assembly Member David Weprin of Hollis (D) easily defeated Ira Harris (R) of Queens Village for the 24th AD seat. The district includes Richmond Hill and stretches north.

In the 25th AD (Fresh Meadows) incumbent Nily Rozic (D) defeated Usman Ali Chohan (R). Both are from Fresh Meadows.

In the 30th AD, or Maspeth, newcomer Brian Barnwell (D) of Woodside, defeated Anthony Nunziato of Maspeth (R-C-Reform). Nunziato, a florist, has saught the seat in several elections.

Three candidates ran for the 33rd D seat, covering Queens Village and Cambria Heights, and Democrat Clyde Vanel of Cambria Heights Defeated both Goldy- Francois Wellington (R-C) of Queens Village and Leory Gadsden (New Ideas) of St. Alban’s.

In the 38th AD, or Woodhaven, incumbent Michael Miller (D) of Glendale defeated Joseph Maldonado (R-Reform) of Ozone Park.

Incumbent Ron Kim (D-WF) of the 40th AD (Flushing) defeated Miriam Rodrigquez (R-Reform).

The Democratic incumbent Assembly Members from Queens who ran unopposed and won new terms are as follows: Edward C. Braunstein (26th AD-Bayside); Michael Simanowitz (27th AD-Fresh Meadows); Andrew Hevesi (28th AD-Forest Hills); Alicia Hyndman (29th AD-Rosedale); Michelle Titus (31st AD-Springfield Gardens); Vivian Cook (32nd AD-Jamaica); Michael DenDekker (34th AD-East Elmhurst); Jeffrion Aubry (35th AD-East Elmhurst); Aravella Simotas (36th AD-Astoria); Catherine Nolan (37th AD-Ridgewood); and Francisco Moya (39th AD-Corona).

Queens Democrats dominated Tuesday’s voting, as they have been doing in recent years. Senator Charles Schumer easily defeated Wendy Long (R-C). A veteran Democrat, Schumer is expected to seek the leadership position when that body convenes for the 2017 session, and is slated to win it easily.

In the voting for Assembly and Senate members, all Democrats were successful in winning new two-year terms. Many were challenged by Republicans, but a large group of Democrats won without opposition.

Clinton, after a loss in the presidential race against Barack Obama in 2008 , had a clear path to the presidency this year, but stumbled badly through an e-mail fiasco which had Republican Party congressmen and the FBI hounding her throughout the campaign. Clinton and Trump were both reviled by voters, but Trump doggedly attacked her, and his negative campaign finally paid off yesterday.

Despite Clinton’s support from the Democratic Party establishment, black and Hispanic voters, and her appeal to women as she promised to be the first woman president in the country’s history, – nothing apparently worked for her as Trump’s “crooked Hillary” chant and his campaign promise to “make America great again” turned the trick for voters yesterday.

Up until yesterday, Trump’s only failure was to get the Republican establishment in his corner coming into yesterday’s final vote. But his relentless slogan to “make America great again” apparently caught on with the majority of America’s voters.

Return to top

Copyright 1999-2019 The Service Advertising Group, Inc. All rights reserved.