2012-09-12 / Front Page

2012 Primary Results

The 2012 Primary results are in.

According to the final poll percentages, State Senator Toby Ann Stavisky defeated John Messer in the Democratic 16th State Senate district with 58 percent (4,919 votes). Messer received 42 percent or 3,553 votes. She will face J.D. Kim in November.

In the 15th State Senate district Councilmember Eric Ulrich defeated attorney Juan Reyes of Rego Park on the Republican ballot with 2,783 votes to his opponent’s 1,217. Ulrich will face State Senator Joe Addabbo Jr. in November.

In the 25th State Assembly district Jerry Iannece was defeated on the democratic ballot by Nily Rozic who earned 2,245 votes. Iannece received only 1,749. Rozic is former chief of staff to Assemblymember Brian Kavanuagh. Rozic will go on to face Republican Party-backed William Garifal, Jr. and Conservative candidate Abe Fuchs in the November general election for the seat currently held by Assemblymember Rory Lancman who will not run for reelection.

In the Democratic 40th State Assembly district, currently occupied by Grace Meng, Ron Kim won with 1,136 votes. His four opponents included Yen Chou (974 votes), Ethel Chen (932), Myunguk Lee (619) and Martha Flores—Vazquez (521). He will oppose Phil Gim in the fall. "Congratulations to Ron Kim on a historic, hard-earned and well deserved victory. Ron's vast government experience and dedication to public service will well serve the constituents of the 40th Assembly District. I look forward to helping Ron win in November and working alongside him in the years to come," said Assemblymember Grace Meng.

In the Democratic 10th State Senate district James Sanders defeated Shirley Huntley by 4,202 to 3,192 votes. Gian Jones came in third with 224 votes. He will run unopposed.

Finally, in the Democratic 38th Assembly district unofficial results have Assemblymember Mike Miller 1,462 votes while his opponent Etienne Adorno received 587 votes. Miller will run unopposed in November.

Return to top

Copyright 1999-2019 The Service Advertising Group, Inc. All rights reserved.